Use of Graphics, Fonts and the Creation of Images

Images are important to help convene meaning to text, research indicates that learners understand more with an image and text than with just text alone. Also students need to be visually literate with the ability to interpret, negotiate, and make meaning from informational images. Special fonts have also been developed to assist those with visual impairments.


Information on creating paper and computer based images

WebAim: www.webaim.org/techniques/images/ sections 1-5
Web Design and DevelopmentUnit 4: Graphics Purpose of Web Graphics
www.washington.edu/accessit/webdesign/student/unit4/module1/Guidelines_for_web_graphics.htm
Web Style Guide: Images
www.webstyleguide.com/wsg3/11-graphics/index.html

Color and Contrast

Color Blind Web Page Filter colorfilter.wickline.org/
Color Lovers Blog as see by the Color Blind www.colourlovers.com/blog/2008/07/24/as-seen-by-the-color-blind/
Vischeck www.vischeck.com/vischeck/vischeckURL.php check your web page for color contrast (does not work for all pages like a blog or a wiki)
Effective color Contrast www.lighthouse.org/accessibility/effective-color-contrast/
Are your pages color sensitive? webdesign.about.com/od/accessibility/a/aa062804.htm Article with suggestions from About.com
Juicy Studios Color Contrast Checker juicystudio.com/services/luminositycontrastratio.php
Color Contrast Checker: www.joedolson.com/articles/2008/12/minimum-color-contrast-ratio-changed-in-wcag-2/
Color Contrast Compare www.joedolson.com/color-contrast-compare.php
Web Aim Color Checker: webaim.org/resources/contrastchecker/

Don't know the hexidecimal code for your colors, visit:
Basic Color Code http://www.htmlgoodies.com/tutorials/colors/article.php/3478961/So-You-Want-A-Basic-Color-Code-Huh.htm

If your colors do not have enough contrast then your site might be inaccessible for many users.


Fonts

Use Sans Serif Fonts = Arial, Trebuchet, Verdana
Making Text Legible www.lighthouse.org/accessibility/design/accessible-print-design/making-text-legible/
Tiresias www.tiresias.org/fonts/fonts_download.htm
APHfont www.aph.org/products/aphont.html designed for more legible documents

Free Photos and Images
franmachine.jpg
woman using a screen reader

Free Photos www.morguefile.com/
Pics4Learning www.pics4learning.com/
Stock Exchange- Royalty Free Pictures www.sxc.hu
Search Engine for Stock photo www.everystockphoto.com/
FreePixels freepixels.com/
Free Photo freephoto1.com/
Public domain Photo Data basewww.pdphoto.org/
EdtechTeacher edtechteacher.org/publicdomainimages.html
Creative Commons wiki.creativecommons.org/MozCC
Flickr Storm www.zoo-m.com/flickr-storm/